Her Laugh

On a bus ride going home, we sat next to each other at the right side of the bus. I was staring at the window, she at her favorite movie playing on the built-in television. While the bus stops for more passengers, I opened a bag of her favorite chocolates. We picked them one by one: fingers touching foil, touching the chocolate, touching the other’s fingers. We stared at each other’s eyes as we ate our own share of sweets. The conductor hands down the ticket to me, and I reached down for my wallet. I grinned at her, just like the leading man in the TV proposing to marry, the window gets splashed by the mud outside.

The bus moves and we immediately returned to our gazes away from each other.

Leave a Reply

