Lament

I am almost there. But see,

I am never there. I can see

The street lights outside

My window flickering, unsure

If forcing to sleep, if forcing to

Explode: Get over it!

Over the counter top,

I wanted to let the tension

I feel coursing inside me

To carry me far

Away from reality.

Once, my hope for salvation

Mixed in my breath: a scent.

But once

Was never enough.

Enough! This deep voice

In this dark room in this moment

Of silence and selfishness

Asks without expectation:

What is it, then,

That separates me from

euphoria?

Leave a Reply

