Three Years of Flying with Fire

WordPress told me:

You registered on WordPress.com 3 years ago!
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!

I am very happy to still keep this poetry blog running since 2010, even if college was already over, even if I have a job now, even if the world never runs out of its supply of heartbreaks.

I know haven’t been posting much because I have been busy recently and I am focusing on completing #KAIZEN. But here, a poem, as always:

Three Years of Flying with Fire

Prayer is an ember on a dark
September evening, breathing
it out against the harvest moon
with ripe-red face mocking
its hunger for attention.

I will fly.
I will fly.

How fast it was, eating materials
left over from the tilled earth’s
surface, its size expanding
into swarm of fireflies
into mother’s red saya
into applauding crowd
until it births
full clouds
hovering under
a white airplane
on an April midday
three years after,
starving the same farms
of rainwater and sunlight,
its stomach growling as jet engines,
burning instantly into perennial yearning.

11:00 AM – 2:00 PM
Bonifacio Global City
Taguig City

Leave a Reply

