Become

When I am not who
I am tonight, I believe
when I lie in bed. I dream
of everyone else’s gaze
and I put on my best dress:
nakedness. When I am not who
what they want me to be,
dressing up is easy. Weave
a fabric of lies spun like
sugarcoated cotton candy, as
artificial as pink. I find comfort
in cushioning. From might
to want to have got to be
who I have never been: animal
on cage, bar rusting when touched
by my licked claws. I project
my best when I perform. I am tonight.

1 April 2014
Torrijos, Marinduque
header image by Juan Viktor Calanoc, Aviary Theory (2011).

Leave a Reply

