Window Shopping

I was right not to be
afraid of any thief
but myself: who becomes
tomorrow, the future, a dream
sequence, but my selfish
version yesterday? How come
I am not enough to earn
gazes from polished jewels,
not even the same second glance
to a rusting copper coin? I turn
myself inside a store where
a mannequin fits my silhouette,
but wearing an attire looking like
I will trade my soul to own.
Without telling me how, I am
left with my mask off, call police,
arrest me now. Just so you know
without telling me that I have
a right to remain
silent. I am anomaly.
I am fraud.
I am everything you
should keep an eye on; so for now,
you can begin as yourself
another day without fearing who
will end by leaving me
nothing.

Katipunan, Quezon City
10 December 2015
3:36 AM

Leave a Reply

